Beware Skype Scams And Predators

If someone contacts you in Skype (or any other social media client) and asks you for personal information – run! Do not click links or download files unless you know exactly WHO is sending them and What they are sending in advance. If I am having a discussion with you about graphics for example, and I tell you I am sending you a draft or graphic then you can be sure it is me sending the file since we are doing business and have been chatting with each other during the process.

Or if we are chatting about something in particular like blogging or other internet marketing related topics and I send you a link or you send me a link during the course of the conversation, then it is probably safe to click it. However, if I appear out of the blue with a spammy link and you don’t recognize my tone of chat…..then I’ve probably had my account hacked and the link being sent by the spammer is not safe to click.  Do Not Click!

Users everywhere are getting malware and viruses from clicking links and/or downloading files from other contacts who they believe are the person they connected with when in fact it’s a spammer or hacker spreading around evil. Some have even had their identity and Paypal accounts taken over by these weasels in sheeps clothing.

Please just be careful out there in cyberspace and on your messenger clients. It’s a real jungle!

  • You should change your passwords regularly (including email passwords, Skype, Facebook, and other site passwords) on a regular basis. Use Roboform’s password generator to get strong passwords.
  • Never give out personal information. Even if the message appears to be from a reputable site. If you need to login to your account – always type the web URL into the browser address bar manually. Sometimes emails appear to be from Facebook or Paypal or other well known sites but in reality they are from a hacker.
  • Never click links in emails that say “Your account has been suspended” or other similar subject lines. Your account is probably just fine. This is a hacker attempt to get your login details.
  • When logged into your Paypal, Facebook, banking, or other secure websites, always be sure to logout before leaving the site. Don’t just close the browser. You could leave behind login cookies.
  • And last but not least, follow your instincts. If you have a feeling this is spam or not something you should be clicking on or downloading, then listen to your inner self. Don’t let curiosity get the best of you!
x

Signup To The Newsletter

Enter Your Details To Stay Informed